

DANIEL P. MCCOY
COUNTY EXECUTIVE

MICHAEL MCLAUGHLIN DEPUTY COUNTY EXECUTIVE

COUNTY OF ALBANY DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC WORKS 449 NEW SALEM ROAD VOORHEESVILLE, NEW YORK 12186-4826

(518) 765-2055 - FAX (518) 447-7047 www.albanycountyny.gov

January 27, 2025

Hon. Chairwoman Joanne Cunningham Albany County Legislature 112 State Street, Rm. 710 Albany, NY 12207

Dear Chairwoman Cunningham:

The Department of Public Works is requesting the Legislature's approval to enter into an amended Agreement with Syntech for purchase and installation of FM Live, a fuel management system that will allow the Department to more efficiently monitor and dispense fuel and execute fuel related billing at each of our seven substations. We are requesting an amendment to Resolution No. 330 of 2024 to reflect a new contract amount of \$133,186.30 and a new term commencing on March 12, 2025 and ending on March 12, 2026.

During implementation of the originally contracted system, it became apparent to our IT Department that the system, as originally quoted, required less secure settings than indicated and would not be aligned with the County's network security best practices. Our IT Department requested an updated quote for system components that transmit through a cellular based network. Moving the pumps to a cellular network mitigates the risk to other systems that have sensitive date and the county's computing network as a whole.

The vendor was selected using Sourcewell Contract #092920-SYS. The total contract amount shall not exceed \$133,186.30. The equipment and installation costs totaling \$121,282.30 will be paid for out of the County's Facilities Assessment/Building/Salt Sheds/Fuel Monitoring Systems Capital Plan. The one-year subscription portion of this contract, \$11,904.00, will be paid out of DPW's Operating Budget.

If there are any questions or further information is needed, please feel free to contact my office.

Sincerely,

Lisa M. Ramundo Commissioner

cc: Hon. Dennis Feeney, Majority Leader Hon. Frank Mauriello, Minority Leader Rebekah Kennedy, Majority Counsel James Curran, Minority Counsel LISA M. RAMUNDO

SCOTT D. DUNCAN DEPUTY COMMISSIONER