

DANIEL P. MCCOY
COUNTY EXECUTIVE

COUNTY OF ALBANY
OFFICE OF THE EXECUTIVE
112 STATE STREET, ROOM 1200
ALBANY, NEW YORK 12207-2021
(518) 447-7040 - FAX (518) 447-5589
WWW.ALBANYCOUNTY.COM

DANIEL C. LYNCH, ESQ.
DEPUTY COUNTY EXECUTIVE

January 13, 2020

Honorable Andrew Joyce, Chairman Albany County Legislature 112 State Street, Room 710 Albany, New York 12207

Dear Chairman Joyce:

As part of ongoing efforts to make Albany County a leader in sustainability I am requesting authorization to enter into a Customer Project Commitment agreement with the New York Power Authority (NYPA) to develop photovoltaic systems with the option for battery storage at seven County sites. The potential sites are: (1) 925 Watervliet Shaker Rd (radar tower parcel); (2) Albany County DPW headquarters; (3) Cornell Cooperative Extension; (4) 260 South Pearl Street; (5) the Sheriff's Clarksville Station; (6) the Albany County Correctional Facility; and (7) the TU Center Garage. The preliminary analysis conducted for these sites, which amount to more than three megawatts of solar capacity, is attached.

The Customer Project Commitment outlines the advisory services that will be provided by NYPA including project planning, development and issuance of a Request for Proposals (RFP), and evaluation of the RFP. Based on the RFP responses a sensitivity analysis to verify the financial viability of sites under a power purchasing agreement will be performed for both behind-the-meter and in-front of the meter interconnection methods plus storage and a portfolio of projects can be selected for development. After a solar developer had been identified NYPA will continue to provide Post Mini-bid and Project Execution support. The County will receive credits on its utility bills for the in-front of meter sites based on the Value of Distributed Energy Resources (VDER).

If you should have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely

Daniel P. McCoy

Albany County Executive

Daniel P. M = Go

cc: Hon. Dennis Feeney, Majority Leader

Hon. Frank Mauriello, Minority Leader Kevin Cannizzaro, Majority Counsel Arnis Zilgme, Minority Counsel