

DANIEL P. MCCOY COUNTY EXECUTIVE COUNTY OF ALBANY DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES 162 Washington Avenue Albany, New York 12210-2304 (518) 447-7300 www.albanycounty.com MICHELE G. MCCLAVE COMMISSIONER

ERIN M. STACHEWICZ EXECUTIVE DEPUTY COMMISSIONER

VALERIE SACKS DEPUTY COMMISSIONER

October 6, 2021

Hon. Andrew Joyce, Chairman Legislative Clerk's Office 112 State St., Room 710 Albany, NY 12207

Dear Chairman Joyce,

The Department of Social Services respectfully requests legislative approval for the following:

Via Resolution 203 adopted 7/12/21 Legislative approval was granted for the Albany County Department of Social Services (DSS) to contract with the NYS Office of Temporary and Disability Assistance for Emergency Rental Assistance Program outreach and engagement services.

Subsequent to this approval, an additional amount of federal dollars has been allocated to Albany County for these purposes. DSS is requesting to accept an amount of \$375,000 to continue ERAP related services including a sub contract with Legal Aid Society (\$125,000) and the remaining \$250,000 for DSS related expenses.

Albany County seeks to participate in the second round of the Emergency Rental Assistance Program (ERAP2) managed by the NYS Office of Temporary and Disability Assistance (OTDA). ERAP2 is a federal assistance program to prevent utility cut off and eviction of households with financial hardship due to the Covid pandemic. DSS will collaborate with Legal Aid Society of Northeastern NY to provide legal assistance to ERAP applicants and also assist them with accessing the NYS portal for benefit submission. DSS will assist tenants throughout the county and provide information to landlords on ERAP and other assistance available. OTDA oversees the application portal, processes applications for assistance, and provides financial assistance directly to landlords and utility companies. The total allocation has been set aside exclusively for Albany County to conduct outreach and engagement.

Sincerely,

Michele G. McClave Commissioner

cc: Dennis A. Feeney, Majority Leader Frank A. Mauriello, Minority Leader Rebekah Kennedy, Majority Counsel Minority Counsel