

DANIEL P. MCCOY COUNTY EXECUTIVE COUNTY OF ALBANY OFFICE OF THE EXECUTIVE 112 STATE STREET, ROOM 1200 ALBANY, NEW YORK 12207-2021 (518) 447-7040 - FAX (518) 447-5589 WWW.ALBANYCOUNTY.COM DANIEL C. LYNCH, ESQ. Deputy County Executive

September 16, 2021

Honorable Andrew Joyce, Chairman Albany County Legislature 112 State Street, Room 710 Albany, New York 12207

Dear Chairman Joyce:

The Office of the Albany County Executive respectfully requests that the Legislature authorize an agreement with BusPatrol America LLC for the implementation of a County-Wide School Bus Stop-Arm Enforcement Program. Following passage of Local Law C for 2021, the County Executive's Office issued RFP 2021-081 to request bids from full-service school bus photo violation monitoring system operators.

This important initiative will help improve student safety by identifying and ticketing vehicles which illegally pass a bus stopped to drop off or pick up children. Under the state legislation, the County is authorized to enter into agreements with eligible school districts in Albany County who opt in to the program. School district participation is voluntary and any agreement to participate in the County's program must be approved by a resolution of the participating school district.

BusPatrol's proposal demonstrated that they have the experience, capacity, and expertise to implement a successful Countywide stop arm camera program. Their comprehensive proposal, experience in New York State, and proposed revenue sharing agreement all contributed to the strength of their proposal. BusPatrol will cover all implementation and ongoing program costs and will be compensated by receiving 60 percent of ticket revenue. Following award, the County with work in partnership with the selected vendor to develop agreements with school districts and begin public education and program implementation.

If you should have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely

Daniel P. M = Gr

Daniel P. McCoy Albany County Executive

cc: Hon. Dennis Feeney, Majority Leader Hon. Frank Mauriello, Minority Leader Rebekah Kennedy, Majority Counsel Arnis Zilgme, Minority Counsel