

DANIEL P. MCCOY
COUNTY EXECUTIVE

COUNTY OF ALBANY
WATER PURIFICATION DISTRICT
1 CANAL ROAD, SOUTH
ALBANY, NEW YORK 12204

REMITTANCE: 112 STATE ST., BASEMENT, ALBANY, NY 12207 PHONE: (518) 447-1611 FAX: (518) 433-0369 www.albanycounty.com COMMISSION

DENNIS RIGOSU CHAIRMAN

NICHOLAS W. FOGLIA MAGGIE ALIX CHARLES G. CARLUCCIO GARRY NATHAN

ANGELO GAUDIO, P.E. EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

January 6, 2025

Hon. Joanne Cunningham Chairwoman Albany County Legislature 112 State Street – Suite 710 Albany, New York 12207

Re: Shared Services Program

Dear Chairwoman Cunningham,

The Water Purification District (District) requests approval to establish a formal Shared Services Program within the District. This initiative aims to streamline and enhance the process by which we share equipment with and perform services between Albany County municipalities.

We propose to accomplish this through the creation of Memorandums of Understanding (MOUs), which will serve as formal agreements between the Albany County Water Purification District and various municipalities across the County. These MOUs will outline the terms and conditions under which equipment and services may be provided, ensuring that all parties involved have a clear understanding of responsibilities, costs, and other logistics.

The goal of this program is to maximize the use of existing resources, enhance efficiency, and share specialized equipment and services that may be utilized between various government facilities and municipalities. By formalizing this process, we aim to foster greater collaboration among municipalities, improve services and reduce operational costs.

We are confident that the proposed Shared Services Program will be beneficial to both the District and the municipalities we serve. Your approval of this request will enable us to move forward with drafting the necessary MOUs and implementing the program.

If you have any questions or concerns you may reach me at (518) 447-1617.

Sincerely,

Angelo Gaudio, P.E. Executive Director

cc: Dennis A. Feeney, Majority Leader Rebekah Kennedy, Majority Counsel Frank Mauriello, Minority Leader Arnis Zilgme, Minority Counsel