

DANIEL P. MCCOY
COUNTY EXECUTIVE

COUNTY OF ALBANY DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC WORKS 449 NEW SALEM ROAD

VOORHEESVILLE, NEW YORK 12186-4826 (518) 765-2055 - FAX (518) 447-7047 www.albanycountyny.gov

LISA M. RAMUNDO COMMISSIONER

SCOTT D. DUNCAN DEPUTY COMMISSIONER

June 28, 2019

Hon. Andrew Joyce, Chairman Albany County Legislature 112 State Street, Rm. 710 Albany, NY 12207

Dear Chairman Joyce:

The Department of Public Works is requesting the Legislature's approval of Supplemental Agreement #5 with MJ Engineering and Land Surveying, P.C. regarding expanding the design scope of the project to include a capacity analysis for the temporary detour and additional construction inspection hours in an amount not to exceed \$53,500.00.

NYSDOT has requested Albany County provide a capacity analysis of the intersection of Kenwood Road with Cherry Avenue (NY Route 140) as it relates to the relocated volumes associated with the proposed temporary detour for the Albany County Rail Trail Bridge Replacement Project. MJ will produce a Level of Service analysis summarizing the comparison of existing and temporary detour conditions and recommended mitigation. They will also design any necessary intersection capacity modifications. The additional design fees are not to exceed \$10,000.00.

The original contract with MJ included 10 weeks of construction inspection at 50 hours per week. This was based on using a prefabricated truss replacement structure and no additional hours for intersection modifications. We are requesting an additional 10 weeks of construction inspection to account for the fact that the replacement structure will not be prefabricated, but will be a through girder structure that will be fabricated in the field. Only the number of hours actually used for inspection will be charged to the project. The additional construction inspection fees are not to exceed \$43,500.00.

MJ proposed Supplement #4, which included a request from the Division for Historic Preservation of the Office of Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation (OPRHP) to document the existing structure through photographs, archival materials and a written history. The County decided to perform this work in-house, and did not approve Supplement #4.

The Legislature authorized the original agreement with MJ Engineering in the amount of \$95,500.00 for design and construction inspection services as per Resolution No. 455 of 2018, dated 10/9/2018 (attached).

The additional Supplemental #1 funding was required to pay for design and construction inspection services for emergency repairs to the existing structure required to strengthen it until it is either rehabilitated or replaced. Supplemental #1 added \$24,000.00 (Resolution No. 322 8/12/19) to the Original Agreement of \$95,500.00.

The additional Supplemental #2 funding was required to progress the SEQRA Type I process. The project was originally scoped as a SEQRA Type II. Supplemental #2 added \$9,000.00 (Resolution No. 322 8/12/19) to the Original Agreement. This combined with Supplemental #1 gave a new contract total of \$128,500.00.

Supplemental Agreement #3 of the project included an Expanded Design Report, preparation of renderings, facilitation of a design charrette and additional meeting coordination required to ensure the stakeholder and public interest is being taken into account during the design process for the Albany County Rail Trail Bridge over New Scotland Road (SR85). The expanded scope was necessary to meet the requirements of the SEQRA Type I process. This additional work was not part of the scope of Supplemental #2. The additional Supplemental #3 added \$31,000.00 (Resolution 322 8/12/19) to the original agreement. Combined with Supplemental #1 and #2 this agreement would have a new contract total of \$159,500.00.

Upon the approval of Supplemental Agreement #5 this agreement would have a new contract total of \$213,000.00.

This project is 100% County funded. If you have any questions or require additional information, please contact my office.

Sincerely,

Lisa M. Ramundo Commissioner

cc: Dennis Feeney, Majority Leader Frank Mauriello, Minority Leader Kevin Cannizzaro, Majority Counsel Arnis Zilgme, Minority Counsel